Woolsey Family Chronicles

Documenting the journey of raising triplets and their wild big sister

Threes October 13, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — The Hip Mothership @ 1:17 am

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Do you see this beautiful girl? She got her tonsils seared from her throat a week ago.  After enduring five Strep throats over the past year, along with other random infections, two different ENT’s deemed her Tonsillectomy worthy.  She went into the hospital with Chris and was loving all of the attention she was getting from the nurses and doctors.  She was given her happy serum and promptly sang the “Ol Ball Game” out loud ending with a very high on drugs giggle at the end.  Chris, of course, caught the whole thing on video and so we get to chuckle at it from time to time.  A week later Elsa is pretty ornery and uncomfortable but I think she will enjoy a lifetime of better healthy because of this surgery.

 

The old Traub/Mannion gang et all travelled up to Apple Hill on Sunday to pick pumpkins and eat apple donuts.  We got some great pumpkins and pictures that day. Later we went over to Chez Mannion for some hot dogs and chili.  It was such a fun and relaxed atmosphere and The Woolseys had a great time eating and then exploring their beautiful property.

My observation for the day is this: my high maintenance 7 year old is a perfect citizen now when we take her anywhere.  She gets along with everyone and entertains herself beautifully.  I never have to worry about her and she appreciates every place we go to its fullest.  One day I may remove the “high maintenance” title from her name.  But not today.  On the other hand, my 3 1/2 year olds tend to be very high maintenance.  They are not all high  maintenance at the same time.  Instead, they trade off being high maintenance and grumpy which means Chris and I are usually dealing with an issue at all times.  I don’t know who coined the term “terrible twos” because I think the 3’s are worse.

 

I have been trying to think of a term to coin for 3 year olds and this is what I have come up with: the thankless threes (I am working my ass off for you thankless little heathens), the theatrical threes (they will create drama from any situation to get attention from a parent), the thoughtless threes (they will act without any consideration of their loving and adoring parents),  then there’s just the crappy three (similar to terrible two except a little rougher around the edges).

Which do you like best?

Here are my top 10 reasons why 3 year olds are more difficult than 2 year olds:

1.  3 year olds know how to negotiate and they do it well

2.  3 year olds are very particular creatures.  They want what they want when they want it and if they don’t get it (see #3)

3.  3 year olds have perfected the 2 year old tantrum

4.  3 year olds know how to lie

5.  3 year olds are at their whiny peak in life

6.  3 year olds talk to much, 75 percent of it not making a whole lot of sense

7.  3 year olds are manipulative

8.  3 year olds are small and fairly talentless but they think they are older than they are and they think they have abilities that they don’t which equals a struggle

9.  3 year olds have the ability to get dressed, buckle themselves into car seats, put their own stinking shoes and socks on but they will choose not to do any of these things on any given day.

10. 3 year olds say the word “why” too much which makes for a really annoying exchange.  It goes something like this: “Put your toys away” “why” “because that is what we do when we are finished playing with them” “why” “because mommy doesn’t like a messy house” “why” “because I was born like that” “why” “just pick up your gosh darn mess before I go crazy, that’s why!!”

With that said, I would be remiss not to mention that 3 year olds are also the most adorable creatures on earth.  It is quite a contradiction I know.  They are still small and they cuddle and they love their mommies and daddies intensely without the pressure of social barriers. They say the cutest things as they learn all of the expressions of English language.  I love how they marvel at the world around them.  As we walked 10 feet from my car to Artbeast yesterday, they stopped me about three separate times to admire their surroundings.  Elsa found an ugly old weed with an ugly old dead yellow flower springing from it and she said “mmmmmmm, mommy look how beautiful and smell it. Mmmmmm.”   They will peel a dead dried up worm from the hot pavement and show each other as if they had found a treasure.  It is precious quality of a three year old. We lose that passion for the simple wonders around us as we get carried away in the pressures of money, work, school and just generally being adults.  Sometimes my 3 year olds remind me that I don’t have to be in a hurry all of the time.  Sometimes I can stop my hurried pace and check out a plant growing wildly on the side of the road, even if it is not part of my plan that day.

Until next time, the mothership is signing off.

 

One Response to “Threes”

  1. Rosa Says:

    Dear Megan,

    Just wanted to let you know that I enjoy every one of your writings and I admire your love for your family. Sometimes I remember the behavior of my boys in those years and I sympathize with you and at the same time I see how much we mothers love our children, but definitely, in my eyes, you are the hero of the family to deal with triplets and a beautiful seven year old daughter. I know Chris is a big help, but still this is you, MOTHER, who has all the responsibilities of raising such a wonderful kids. I am very happy that Ronin and Lily have such a marvelous cousins.
    Stay healthy, strong and firm my dear, since they (specially the girls) need your wisdom, as they grow older…….

    I am glad that Elsa got her Tonsil out early in life. I had to endure strep throats and infections for 17 years before doctors decided to take my tonsils out!!!

    Big Hugs to all of you — Rosa


Leave a Reply

