Woolsey Family Chronicles

Documenting the journey of raising triplets and their wild big sister

Washer and Dryer January 25, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — The Hip Mothership @ 5:32 am

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

While I was in the kitchen by myself scarfing down my Trader Joe’s Lentil Soup with Ancient Grains, which, by the way, was delicious, my sweet little triplets were up to no good.  I had given them each a mixing bowl from the kitchen and some wooden utensils to pretend they were making macaroni and cheese.  This was fun for about five minutes and then things got really quiet.  The triplets are not to be trusted these days.  They are getting into things they aren’t supposed to and threatening to dismantle and destroy my nice house.  I heard Elsa say “let’s do makeup!!” and that is when I left my soup and bolted upstairs.  The last time I left them unaccompanied upstairs for too long, and things were just a little too quiet, I found that they had gotten into Ava’s Barbie makeup and done some major applications to their face, hands and the carpet.  This has happened twice, so I didn’t learn my lesson the first time apparently.

Well, those naughty little triplets weren’t going to get one over on me this time.  I went upstairs to find that Preston had gotten Ava’s Pez dispenser down from her bookcase and eaten all of her precious Pez candies.  He had a big grin on his face.  When I asked him whether he thought Ava was going to be really mad that he ate all of her candies, he said, “yeeesssssssss” all long and drawn out with a big grin on his face.  Violet was sorting through Ava’s precious jewels that she has neatly organized in her new jewelry box that she got for Christmas.  Violet, who wants to be a “good girl” all the time, ran from the room as soon as she saw me come in.  She knew she wasn’t supposed to be playing with Ava’s jewelry.  Elsa had gotten into Ava’s doll clothes that are specifically for her doll “Eva” and was dressing her own doll with them.  Ava is not going to be happy when she gets home.  The triplets are for sure going to get a verbal lashing from their older sister, and she will for sure cry over the loss of her Pez candies.

In other news, our dryer broke again. In this household, it isn’t good to be out an appliance.  Three months ago we spent $160 to fix the dryer.  Now it has broken again with the same problem.  Instead of spending another $160 to fix a 10-year-old dryer that is not energy-efficient and will probably keep costing us money, we went to Best Buy and bought the best washer and dryer we could find.  It was a cha-ching moment for us, but it will be so well worth it.  For example, my clothing is almost stacked up to the ceiling after not having a working dryer all week and so I plan to get my new extra large super duper capacity Samsung washer and throw all those clothes in there. 

Secondly, I was dismayed to get my gas bill yesterday and it was a whopping $420 for 3 weeks.  I called the propane company up on the phone and I asked why I am paying this exorbitant money for gas in my house.  She said that we used “darn near almost the entire tank of propane in 3 weeks.” I asked what was costing me so darn much money and she said that I am keeping my house too warm.  Too warm?  I have all my heater set to 67 or 68 degrees during the day and 65 at night.  For me, that is cold.  For me, that temperature calls for double layers and slippers inside the house.  Then she said that my dryer was probably costing us the second most amount of money in the household.  Ah ha! Problem fixed.  My super duper extra large capacity, energy star efficient, electric dryer that will only run for a short time since my extra capacity super duper washer will have spun the crap out of the clothes to the point that they are almost dry, should take care of that problem. 

The triplets third birthday is coming right up in  a month and they are so excited.  They want to go to Tumble Time for some gymnastics and they want balloons and cake.  Since they really don’t have any friends yet because they don’t go to school and all my friends have older kids, they will just enjoy their birthday with their sister and their cousin.  I cannot believe that they are turning three.  Ava was three when the doctors pulled those three little creatures from my exhausted body, so it is hard to think that they are now three.  I love them so. 

Ava has her spelling bee tomorrow.  Chris and Gigi will be sitting in the back making Ava nervous while she tries to spell very hard words under pressure.  She will do great because she is a “rise to the occasion” kind of kid.  Her handwriting will be perfect and if I had to guess I would say that she will spell every word correct.  She is a competitive girl.  I will report back later with the status of her spelling bee and whether she made it to the next round. 

If you need to reach me in the next day or two I will be in my laundry room admiring my new washer and dryer, potentially caressing it.

Until next time, the mothership is signing off.

 

One Response to “Washer and Dryer”

  1. Mira Says:

    you’re funny! And can you believe 3???


Leave a Reply

