Woolsey Family Chronicles

Documenting the journey of raising triplets and their wild big sister

Winter Tales January 11, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — The Hip Mothership @ 4:47 am

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After winter break is over and all the decorations are put away, what we have left is the rest of a long cold winter. It is these months that stretch from January to May that are the hardest for me.  The kids can’t go outside and play very much which leaves us playing a lot of kitchen, or simply just throwing themselves off the couch onto the bean bags for the better part of the afternoon. Although I am not a big supporter of using furniture as play equipment, I do let them have a few extra freedoms in the safety of the playroom in the dead of winter. 

This winter is different from last winter, though, because I have found yoga.  Some people find God, I found yoga, and that is my God right now.  For me, yoga gives me the physical and mental strength I need to get through my days.  I have one yoga teacher in particular that I go to who incorporates a balanced combination of strength and exercise with meditation and spiritual thought.  If I am having a bad day or my thoughts are flooded with negativity, I go take a yoga class and my entire day is re-focused on the day and I can bring more happiness to myself. 

On Saturday I dragged Chris into yoga with my favorite teacher.  Chris has never taken a yoga class in his life, but he is strong and fairly flexible for a man, so I thought he could do it and maybe like it.  By the middle of class, Chris was sweating and some of the poses were too much for him as a beginner.  At one point I felt badly for him so I reminded him that he can go into child’s pose whenever he wanted to.  I had barely gotten the words out when he was down on the ground in child’s pose.  I thought he did well for someone who had never taken yoga before.  Yoga is not easy, and as you take more classes and get stronger and more flexible, more doors open up for you to take your practice to the next level and accomplish more challenging poses.  Chris loved the yoga class, and I noticed he talked about it many times throughout the rest of the day; it had made a real impression on him.  He really loved the meditation and spiritual component that my favorite teacher offers during class.  I think there are more yoga classes in his future. 

The kids have been really great lately.  Ava has been reluctantly practicing spelling words with Chris.  Ava’s teacher emailed us to tell us that she asked Ava if she is practicing her spelling words – a list of around 300 words that she could be asked to spell at the spelling bee in a few weeks – and she told her teacher that “my dad makes me spell hundreds of words each day!”

The triplets seem to be having a developmental burst right now.  Preston’s vocabulary is getting very good.  He seems to have a new energy about him and it is fun to watch him blossom as he approaches the big 3 year mark.  Elsa is such a great talker that when she is talking and people cannot see her, they think it is Ava talking.  Today Ava picked her up and hugged her when she got home from school, and Elsa turned to me and said, “this is my sister” with such admiration.  She still is refusing to potty train though, which means I am going to have to get tough with her soon.  I told her that when she turns 3 she will not be wearing pull-ups anymore.  Her response to this was, “oh, because I will be a big girl then?”.  Violet is also growing her vocabulary a lot, now we just need to work on her pronunciation.  She is the sweetest kid with the biggest heart.  Tonight she told me that her leg was hurting her so I rubbed it for a while.  When she got up to resume playing she said to me “thank you Mommy for making my leg better.” 

Until next time, the mothership is signing off.

 

Leave a Reply

