Woolsey Family Chronicles

Documenting the journey of raising triplets and their wild big sister

Lily November 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — The Hip Mothership @ 5:52 am

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The process of creating, growing and delivering a new human being into the world is never unimpressive.  I simply marvel at a woman’s body’s ability to grow and nurture a little baby and then deliver it from her body, fully formed and perfect and capable of turning into a crying, laughing, talking person. 

I was privileged enough to be able to watch my new niece Lily Josephine be born on November 11th at noon.  Ava and I rushed to the hospital, just after we stopped for our Peet’s Coffee and hot chocolate, and waited for Lily to make her grand appearance.  Ava was in the room for a few of Molly’s pushes, and then we ushered her out to wait with Gramps and Ronin in the waiting room.  My poor sister pushed for nearly 3 hours because Lily’s head was at a precarious angle which made it difficult for her to exit the premises.  But when she did finally decide to show herself to the world, she was a beautiful 7 pound, 2 ounce, 18 1/2 inch baby girl with very black hair and a cute little face. 

For me, it is such an honor and an unforgettable experience to be able to see my niece and nephew being born.  My sister did a great job in both deliveries and now she is closing down the baby growing shop, so I guess that was my last live birth experience until my kids have babies and then I will force my presence upon them in the delivery room whether they like it or not.  Hey, I’m pretty much a professional leg holder now.  That is my job; I held one of Molly’s legs back while she pushed during both deliveries.  I have recently been informed that I am a superior leg holder to Nima, which I take as a major compliment, although I shouldn’t since husbands don’t generally do anything right in the delivery room. 

I like this baby blessing, and I dedicate this to my new niece Lily:

Jewish Baby Blessing

In every birth, blessed is the wonder.
In every creation, blessed is the new beginning.
In every child, blessed is life.
In every hope, blessed is the potential.
In every transition, blessed is the beginning.
In every existence, blessed are the possibilities.
In every love, blessed are the tears.
In every life, blessed is the love. 

 

Until next time, the mothership is signing off.

 

One Response to “Lily”

  1. Lesley Says:

    Congrats Molly and Nima!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! She is beautiful!!!


Leave a Reply

