Woolsey Family Chronicles

Documenting the journey of raising triplets and their wild big sister

Pictures, Doctor’s Visits and More April 29, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — The Hip Mothership @ 5:29 pm

First of all, I have new pictures! Well, they are from a few months ago when the babies first came home and they are so sweet. Once again, Brenda did a fantastic job taking pictures. Here is the link: http://www.bisharatphotos.com/slideshows2/slideshow.php?slideshow=Megan+Woolsey+home+full
Our Ava isn’t in this set but she will be in the next.

I promise this won’t be a complaining post, and with that said, bear with me as I complain. Sunday night the babies slept from 10 until 3:30am, a great feat for 2 months old babies and three of them at that. The only problem is that Ava woke me up four times!!! I could’ve had 5 hours of uninterupted sleep but Ava kept waking me up and wouldn’t listen to my pleas for her to go back to sleep and quit getting me out of bed. Where is the justice in that? My friend Maureen came Monday night and spent the night in Chris’s absence and is such a trooper because she was up twice in the night and then has to work all day – thanks Maureen. And my sister has been a tremendous help spending the night, holding babies, feeding babies, washing bottles, etc. Thank goodness for wonderful friends and family.

So Chris is out of town again and again I have baby issues. This time it isn’t a chest x-ray for Violet but an x-ray for Elsa who continues to spit up record amounts of food and one for Preston who now has Violet’s cold and is coughing and wheezing.

On Sunday Elsa spit up two entire bottles. We just feel so badly for her and want it fixed but nothing we do helps. She seems like she is gaining enough weight and isn’t suffering any long term prognosis but I hate to watch her barf all day long. It is uncomfortable and exhausting and she is such a trooper in dealing with it. I think most babies who have acid reflux to the extent that Elsa does are very fussy all day long but Elsa isn’t. She just goes with the flow unless she is hungry and then she roars!

So, off Elsa and I went to Sutter Memorial where we spent the majority of the day giving her tests – xrays and then a test where she had to drink this nasty tasting white fluid from a bottle and so the doctor could watch it go through her system and make sure things are moving and there isn’t any problems inside that could be causing the problem. Elsa came home with a totally clean and healthy bill of health. The bottom line is that Elsa has an extreme case of acid reflux which is very common in preemies and we just have to all work through it until she grows out of it in about four or five months. I hope my friends will still want to hang out with me over the next few months even though I smell like throw up 🙂

Preston and I took a field trip to the doctor today to address his wheezing and coughing and of course that trip turned into another trip to the Folsom Radiology place in Folsom for an x-ray of his chest. The doctor doesn’t think he has any infection but she didn’t want to miss anything with such small babies. Speaking of babies and their size, Preston weighed in at 7 pounds 3 ounces today. He is such a big boy! We are still waiting for the test results. In the waiting room at the doctor’s office I saw this cute dad with four girls all around him. I just had to ask him if all four girls were his and he said that he has five girls and three of them are triplets! Four year old triplets! Of course we got into a conversation about triplets and he said once we make it to about 9 months things are a piece of cake. Babies play together and sleep is not as much of a problem. He looked like he just loved his life with all of his girls – so cute!

Later, while I was in the waiting room at the Radiology office I fell asleep sitting up in the chair. The lady next to me who doesn’t respect the exhausted sleeping mom woke me up to tell me that I must be tired as a new mom. I said that I have two more of those little munchkins at home and tired doesn’t quite describe how I feel. She proceeded to ask me if I planned on having triplets. Hmmm, did I plan on having triplets? What? All I could do is laugh. I got a good chuckle out of that one. Ahhh, I could write an entire book on the comments and questions I get from the general public on the topic of my triplets. Maybe I will one day.

Until then, I am making it day by day and hoping tomorrow will not land me in a doctor’s office or hospital. Chris is home tomorrow and we will all be so glad to have him back. He always asks me if I miss him or his home help and my answer is always — both.

I am going to sign off now and close my eyes for a few minutes while Ava is out and the babies are all asleep. Sigh. I am glad I write this blog because I can assure you this will all be a fog to me one day and I won’t be able to remember a thing from this time in my life.

Until next time, the mothership is out of here . . .

 

Leave a Reply

